Greater Waco Sports Commission

The Greater Waco Sports Commission is an independent non-profit organization that has been created to identify and attract new sports events while enhancing and retaining existing events to generate positive economic impact and enhance the quality of life in McLennan County. The vision is that the Greater Waco area will realize its incredible potential – due to its community spirit, location, climate, rivers and lake, beautiful parks, and premiere facilities – as the preferred venue for sports in Texas.

Our Board Members

  • Shawn Trochim (Chairman)
  • Jason Ramos (Vice-Chairman)
  • Marcus Sedberry
  • Jim Holmes
  • Dan Ingham
  • Shea Lalani
  • Cynthia Lewis
  • Jim Smith
  • Nancy Goodnight
  • Brad Shelton
  • Loren Schwartz
  • Jason Cook
  • Rick Tullis (Past Chair)


Will Phipps
Executive Director

Will Phipps has always had a passion for sports. As a Baylor freshman he volunteered his time as a student manager for the basketball team because he wanted to be in the business of sports. With the subsequent training, mentorship, education, and experience, Will was able to work at a high level in college athletics. He wants to use the power and draw of sports to improve the community that means so much to him.

Working with key stakeholders and partners throughout greater Waco, he has been able to attract various national and regional events including Ironman Waco 70.3, Ironman Texas 140.6, Nautique Wakesurf Nationals, NJCAA Womens Tennis National Championships and others… He looks forward to championing all the great venues that Waco has to offer as the preferred sports destination in Texas.

Phipps earned his bachelor’s degree in speech communications from Baylor University in 2009  and his master’s degree from Valparaiso University in 2015. The Lubbock, Texas native resides in Woodway with his two daughters, Laney, born in March of 2013 and Riley, born in April of 2015. Both of his daughters were born on Easter Sunday.


Thanks To Our Sponsors